top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturepamdowell

2023 Family Yearbook

Updated: Jan 7, 2023

Simple. Sustainable. Intentional.


Happy New Year! I hope your year is off to a great start in your memory-keeping!


Pages from 2022 Album

Last year I experienced decision paralysis for the first time as a seasoned documenter. For 2023, I am thrilled to have a memory-keeping plan to document my family's memories. Below is my process on how I am using Wilson|Wilson products and preparing my digital folders, photos and templates to use throughout the year. By the end of this post, I hope it will inspire you to plan and prepare your digital files for success and sustainability in sharing your narratives in 2023.




Step 1 | Plan

I used a couple of documents from Wilson|Wilson to plan my 2023 yearbook.

  • Creative Footprint (Purpose: Define narrative, design style, photo editing and typography)

  • Content Guide (Purpose: Story planner for the year)


FORMAT

My yearbook will include four chapters

Completed size: 12x12 matte prints inserted into page protectors and placed into an album.


ACTION ITEM: Purchase Album and Page Protectors to avoid delays due to availability.


COLOR PALETTE

RGB, black and white


TYPOGRAPHY


PREFERENCES


PHOTOS

Audit, select and edit photos.

  • Color/BW

  • Brightness/Contrast/Saturation

DIGITAL TEMPLATES

I'm using Wilson|Wilson 12x12 templates as a foundation and will customize them accordingly. I love the flexibility!

For efficiency, in each of the PSD template files, I have updated the fonts and styling (kerning, tracking and leading) that I will be using for the year.


Template links:


DESIGN ELEMENTS

Simple, balanced and ample white space.


JOURNAL TECHNIQUES

For my journaling, I use Google Docs to copy/paste my text into the templates. To check for basic grammar errors, I like to use Grammarly. My journaling format will be editorial but I will include Q&As, quotes, and bullets. I will keep my language style casual and in the past tense.


PRODUCTS / COLLECTIONS

TOOLS

I am using the following software and application:

OTHER RESOURCES

Helpful prompts for capturing everyday moments.



Step 2 | Prep

CREATE FOLDERS & COLLECT ASSETS*

Below is the folder structure I used.

  • MASTER FOLDER

    • 2023 Dowell Yearbook

  • SUBFOLDERS

    • 2023 Dowell Yearbook Pages (native PSD files)

    • Fonts (fonts used for layouts)

    • Images (family photos)

    • Press Ready (files to send to printer)

    • Templates–Kits (PSDs, JPGs, PNGs)

    • Creative Footprint PDF (for reference)


*Assets include images, fonts, templates and kits.


Step 3 | Create

DIGITAL TOOLS + LAYOUT + PHOTOS + JOURNALING

After completing my creative footprint worksheet and organizing my folders and assets, I'm confident that my family yearbook process will be efficient, simple, sustainable and intentional. Looking forward to documenting my family's memories for 2023.



I hope you find this post helpful in eliminating decision paralysis. Planning does take time but the efforts are valuable when you prepare to document your family's yearbook. Thank you for reading, I appreciate you being here.

Pam
1 comment
bottom of page